Wednesday Words – Introducing Dracomagan …

Welcome to Wednesday Words once more. This week I am introducing my character from Dragonscale Leggings, Dracomagan.

FP: Who are you?
DM: I am the dragonslayer.

FP: Yes, but who are you?
DM: I’ve just said. Are you deaf?

FP: OK then. What do you do?
DM: Do you have a brain?

FP: Of course!
DM: Do you use it?

FP: I’m not sure I get your point…
DM: Obviously.

FP: So…
DM: I am the dragonslayer therefore I kill dragons.

FP: How?
DM: With my giant potato peeler.

FP: Your what?
DM: Are you deaf?

FP: No!
DM: I – kill – dragons – with – my – giant – potato – peeler.

FP: You can talk normally.
DM: I thought you were hard of hearing.

FP: No. So, how where did you find a giant potato peeler?
DM: Why don’t you read Dragonscale Leggings and find out?

FP: Dracomagan, I WROTE Dragonscale Leggings, I know what happens.
DM: So why ask?

FP: I’m asking for the benefit of my readers.
DM: (Glances around suspiciously). What readers?

FP: They’re not here. They’re going to read this interview on the internet.
DM: The what?

FP: It’s a communication device that means people from all around the world can talk to each other.
DM: (Looks very uneasy). Humph! Sounds like magic to me.

FP: No, it’s technology.
DM: Same difference. You’re not one of Merlin’s minions are you?

FP: Certainly not!
DM: Hmmm. I’m not sure I like the idea of this interview after all…

FP: It’s OK. It’s perfectly safe.
DM: Can I use my giant potato peeler on this internet thing?

FP: Well, not really, it’s a virtual thing.
DM: Virtual? What are you on about?

FP: Well, it’s something that is intangible…
DM: That’s definitely magic. I’m leaving.

FP: No, please stay. My readers want to hear more about you.
DM: They do?

FP: Of course! They want to know how you live, who you meet, where you end up.
DM: Well, then, they need to read the book.

FP: Yes, but can’t you tell us a little bit about yourself?
DM: Freya, I am a person about whom stories are written. I do not tell stories about myself.

FP: I know that, but can’t you just tell us a little bit more?
DM: No.

FP: Look, Dracomagan, I know you sprang fully formed from my imagination but…
DM: You what?

FP: I created your character and I’d really like you to comply…
DM: What do you mean you created me?

FP: You’re not real. You’re a figment of my imagination…
DM: Codswallop! Of course I’m real… What’s that?

FP: (Listening) That’s the next door neighbour’s radio playing in the garden.
DM: (Rises to her feet and picks up her giant potato peeler) Shards and Shells. Can’t believe you’ve just told me I don’t exist.

FP: But Dracomagan…. Oh dear. That didn’t go very well. I do apologise to you all. Maybe I can get her back again another day… It sounds like she’s having another arguement with the neighbour regarding the sound of his radio. If you would like to find out more about Dracomagan, you can read about her in Dragonscale Leggings available at

Next week I will be posting an excerpt from the novel…

© Freya Pickard 2012
Explore posts in the same categories: dracomagan, dragonscale leggings

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Introducing Dracomagan …”

  1. Dan Hoger Says:

    Classic!


  2. […] she actually do? Apart from slaying dragons, ogres, goblins and the like? She did allow me to interview her once, though that wasn’t an entire success. And she did once review Dragonscale Leggings; […]

  3. claudia Says:

    really lovely and funny:)


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

