Wednesday Words – An excerpt from Dragonscale Leggings …

“Foulbreath!” I cried, “Come out!”

“Go ‘way,” came the dragon’s deep voice, “No salesmen or hawkers allowed.”

My dreams flooded back to me and I wondered if Foulbreath and the dragon in the Wasteland were related at all.

“No I won’t go away!” I called, hearing my voice echoing magnificently, “I am the Dragon Slayer and I want to finish you off!” That wasn’t actually part of the plan but I thought it might draw him outside.

“Get stuffed!” came the sullen tones from inside the cave.

Honestly! Such language! I pressed my heels to Tygar’s sides and he trotted forwards sniffing the air in expectation. I reined him in at the entrance to the cave and peered in. The sun was bright in a clear blue sky and it took a while for my eyes to adjust to the dim interior. Piles of white bones lay about the floor near the entrance. A large mound of coins and other glittery objects made a bed for the bulky dragon further in. The air was thick with smoke and I coughed as it irritated my throat. Foulbreath hunched his shoulders and half spread his wings.

“I’ve not invited anyone here,” he grumbled. “ So you can trot back down to the valley again like a good little dragon slayer.”

I drew my giant potato peeler from the cylindrical scabbard Kaga had made for me and flourished it at the dragon. The action was totally lost on the monster as he still had his back to me. “Dragon Slayers don’t wait for invitations,” I said arrogantly. “Turn around and fight!”

“Would you fight if you were ill?” The dragon coughed suddenly and the cave filled with puffs of black smoke.

My coughing sounded quite pathetic next to the dragon’s chesty hacking.

“You can’t be ill,” I told him impatiently. “I want to fight you!”

“I’m not fighting you,” Foulbreath fanned his wings to clear the black smoke.

Tygar snorted with irritation and backed out into the sunlight. I felt annoyed with the dragon. Why wouldn’t he turn round? Why wouldn’t he fight? I really wanted to practise some of the manoeuvres that Kaga had been teaching me. I remembered then what Gatus had told me about dragons being vain and I wondered how badly I had cut him down by the lake.

“Very well,” I said with what I hoped was menacing promise.” You may not wish to fight me now but I never leave a deed undone. One day I will find you and finish you off.”

© Freya Pickard 2012
Explore posts in the same categories: dracomagan, dragonscale leggings

14 Comments on “Wednesday Words – An excerpt from Dragonscale Leggings …”


  1. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  2. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  3. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  4. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  5. […] can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also a longer excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  6. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  7. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  8. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  9. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  10. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  11. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  12. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  13. […] You can read the entire first chapter of my book at Feed A Read and there is also an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog. The novel is available at many stores, including Amazon […]


  14. […] – 2 five hundred words or thereabouts; read from my book dragonscale leggings… Dragonscale Clippings © Freya Pickard 2012 Share this:Like this:LikeOne blogger likes […]


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

