Wednesday Words – futuristic dreamscape…

I stumble up the steep track, shale slipping beneath my baseball boots. Several times I slip and graze the palms of my hands, but strangely, there is no pain. I halt as the path levels out, revealing a large cavern mouth, intense darkness gaping, revealing nothing.
“Took your time, didn’t you?” I turn to find the slim woman regarding me stonily.
“Oh, it’s you, why have you called me here?”
She leaps down from the boulder blocking the way past the cave, her long hair flailing.
“What have you done to your hair?”
She touches the thin braids almost self-consciously. “It saves having to comb it every day. Have you noticed?”
“Noticed what?” I know I am dreaming and that when I wake I will feel terrible. I always do when she visits my dreams.
“The absence of the crows.”
“Not really, no.”
“You call yourself a writer…”
“Look, is there a point to all this?”
She grins at my discomfort. “Of course. I think there’s a plot between a dark wizard and the bad dragons…”
“Hang on!” I say wearily, “that comes way in the future. I think my readers want to hear what happened when you went off with Merlin to find Lancelot.”
“Not saying.” She crosses her arms over her chest.
“And they’ll want to hear the Uncle Cat-Swinger tales in full.
Her arms drop and she grins delightedly. “I’ll tell you all about him…”
My short story “Echo Peak” has been accepted for publication by EoTE and will be appearing in the December issue of Shadows & Silhouettes!
© Freya Pickard 2012
Explore posts in the same categories: dracomagan

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Wednesday Words – futuristic dreamscape…”

  1. JulesPaige Says:

    I’m working on some very short stories…hailbain…that is the correct word for prose followed by haiku isn’t it? Maybe I’ll submit some of them to EOTE…remind me… 🙂

  2. Libby Says:

    Congratulations. I’m looking forward to reading it.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

