What I Live For (why I write)

I dream dreams and want to find out what happens next. I hear voices in my head, discover characters begging for freedom, to be let loose on the page. I believe I have many things the world needs to hear. Plots and stories well up inside me. If I don’t write these things down, I feel like I am going to explode.
I enjoy writing about the ordinary things of everyday life, how special each thing is; a germinating seed, the first flower of spring, the cry of a buzzard, the piercing song of the robin, the sun’s warmth on my skin, a friendly smile. I love to write about fantastic situations, creatures and events. I take the ordinary and make it extraordinary.
I don’t want to capture scenes or emotions. Rather, I want to set them free. I want to make images and feelings come to life, to trigger a response in my readers. Writing frees my inner self, allows me to put into words what cannot or should not be spoken. Writing helps me to resolve things within my soul. I am Me. I write. It is my life.
© Freya Pickard 2013
Explore posts in the same categories: blogsplash

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “What I Live For (why I write)”


  1. Very well put, Freya. I do enjoy coming across your offerings.

  2. Libby Says:

    Beautifully expressed aims at which you never fail to succeed. Your writing is always a pleasure to read.

  3. Elisa Choi Says:

    enjoyed reading more about what you live for freya. powerful post!

  4. Satya Robyn Says:

    Great post Freya!


  5. I love the passion and vivid imagery. I wish all writers felt this way.


  6. Very nice – we need dreamers in this world.


  7. Great post. I feel your passion. I’m a writer too. Thank you for sharing.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

