Without Words 2

Today is the first day for five weeks that I have put pen to paper and written something. Five weeks – how did I do it? Why did I do it?
I needed a break. In 2012 I struggled to be creative. This year, creativity just hasn’t stopped. I wrote so much poetry between January and June. Too much. Too many ideas. Too much flooding through my brain.
So, no writing and no reading. (For me, words engender words). I was scared at the prospect of five weeks without writing. But it turned out that not writing was the easiest thing in the world. I actually felt relief at not having to write. I think this indicated that I needed to stop. For over 20 years I have written something creative nearly every day. Five weeks of abstinence was good for me. Instead of feeling I had to capture everything I saw, smelt, tasted, touched and heard on paper, I was free to enjoy it all instead.
I have to admit though, that this last weekend my hands were itching to pick up a pen and start this new journal.
Next week, find out how I managed Without Reading…
© Freya Pickard 2013
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

