Wednesday Words – To Understand

I am not too bothered about being understood. I understand myself and my handful of close friends understand me. That is enough. I know where I’m coming from and where I’m going. If someone else understands what I’m saying, that’s a bonus! At least they have made the effort to read my work.
I do try and understand others. I often take myself out of my moshulu and put on other peoples’ shoes. This helps me to develop characters in my stories and also enables me to connect with people who are outside my circle of experience. I cannot, however, understand the minds of murderers, rapists or paedophiles; I don’t think I’m meant to…
© Freya Pickard 2013
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Wednesday Words – To Understand”


  1. I think writing should cause people to question…where did that come from? What does she mean? Great writing reaches into the depths of previously undiscovered territory…it surprises everyone, including the writer! Thanks for visiting and following my blog.


  2. Empathy is a rare trait nowadays so I commend you for trying to understand others. A lot of people don’t bother to do so. I find different people fascinating and I agree that the process of getting to know and understand people is inspiring. xx

  3. nfocus4you Says:

    Reblogged this on nfocus4youblog and commented:
    Truly

  4. SolariC Says:

    It is interesting how trying to be a better person by understanding others ends up helping with writing too. I have the mindset that lets me understand where criminals are coming from, though. Probably because I tend to think of stories where the characters have to face hardships and learns how to deal with such things.


  5. I’m with you all the way on this.

  6. Libby Says:

    If you start to worry about everyone else understanding you it will probably stop you writing! The only person you should really aim to satisfy is yourself, then you will take others with you on the ride.


  7. So true – I’m just the same. 🙂


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

