Wednesday Words – Stones or Clippings?

I don’t think my stones are technically true small stones. This is one reason why I’ve started calling them clippings.
The way I write is peculiar. When I write a novel I am both detached and involved, but I am living my characters’ lives as I write.
So, for me, writing a small stone is not only a way of connecting with the world, but also a way of connecting with myself again. I have to find out how I feel and remind myself to be me.
That’s why I think my small stones are not detached enough to be true small stones.
However, the practice has enabled me to stay sane whilst in the throes of creativity and give me a modicum of space whilst writing novels. (It becomes very exhausting hearing 3 or 4 different voices in one’s head at once). And of course, the practice of writing small stones or clippings helps me write better haiku…
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Stones or Clippings?”

  1. Aquileana Says:

    I loved your insights regarding writing…
    Writing as a way of connecting with the whole world and with yourself… That´s so meaningful…
    Reaching out the right words is already a way to find your deepest inner self.
    I bet your small stones will surely lead you to build a beautiful plot… All the best for you, Aquileana 🙂


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

