Wednesday Words – Penny Sylvester

You won’t have heard of her.
Penny did not have any internet presence. She was thoroughly old-fashioned, preferring telephone and letter writing. She wasn’t interested emails or the internet at all.
You would not know her, unless you had been part of one of the many postal writing folios she and her mother ran for many years.
I first joined the Scribo Fantasy and Science Fiction Folio in July 1994. It was then that my correspondence with Penny began. Without Penny’s ability to draw together a variety of writers to read and comment on each other’s work, I doubt that my novel Dragonscale Leggings would ever have been published. Not only did she provide a place for writers to obtain genuine feedback on their work, she individually encouraged each member where she could. Two of my fellow folio members are Matt Rowe and Elizabeth Baxter who also have published work in recent years.
I never met Penny and have no idea what she looked like. Her letters were always about the books she was reading and the changing seasons. She provided detailed, encouraging feedback on my Newsletter and always had something positive to say to keep me writing. For nearly 20 years Penny was there; a mainstay, a rock, someone I could always rely on. Now she has passed on and the world seems suddenly to be an emptier, colder place.
Thank you Penny for everything you did for me and for each person you connected with. You will always be remembered.
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Penny Sylvester”

  1. Kate Thomas Says:

    I can only echo what’s been said. Penny was a wonderful correspondent, a steadfast friend, and my greatest encouragement as a writer. I’d have given up writing a long time ago without her unfailing support. Thank you, Penny – I’ll miss you. Kate Thomas

  2. Libby Says:

    Wonderful tribute Freya. So sad for you. Sending hugs.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

