Wednesday Words – Chapter Seven

I’d have to tie my hair back for one thing. If the dragon breathed fire… My thought trailed off. I’d be dead anyway. Where would I go? What would happen to me? I steered my thoughts back to the present situation. What had Gatus said? That dragons try to avoid conflict. They use their cunning and guile. So they could speak could they? I realised my thoughts had started to spiral so I finished my tea and went back to my room
I plaited my hair and tied the end with a scrap of leather I’d found in one of the saddle bags. Then I took the sword out of its sheath and swung it around experimentally, knocking the candle off the mantelpiece. It was heavy. How on earth had I used it before? I slid it back into the sheath and picked up the giant potato peeler. This seemed more familiar to me and although awkward to swing, suited my arms and hands better. No memories came rushing in to help me though. All I could remember was the rotting carcass and the terrible stench in the heat…
This is an excerpt from Chapter Seven of my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

