Wednesday Words – Chapter Eight

The children fell silent and I turned my head to bring them into view. One boy held a sparkling jewel aloft. The girls were silent, covering their mouths with their hands. The other boy’s eyes were wide with fear and he was making motions to hide the stone. Tygar snorted and tossed his mane. I glanced to the east and realised the birds had stopped singing. A wind had risen and was tossing the branches of the trees in the forest. The mist around the mountain had disappeared and something was hurtling towards me. Something huge, something that blurred the air around it. Something dull red with smoke streaming from its nose. Tygar reared up, nearly unseating me. He screamed a challenge to the airborne monster as I grabbed the reins and caught the peeler as it dropped towards the ground. I heard running feet behind me but they were running away from me. I was the Dragon Slayer and I was on my own…
This is an excerpt from Chapter Eight of my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Chapter Eight”


  1. I loved this excerpt, it has me intrigued.
    Premise sounds very promissing.
    I might give it a try.

    I’d loke to know your thoughts on my short story:

    http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-social-moral/short-story-social-issue-howling-flower/


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

