Wednesday Words – Introducing “The King’s Mage”

Today I am talking to Elizabeth Baxter about her novel, “The King’s Mage”. It is the second in her Songmaker series and I want to know what inspired her to write it…
I have always loved and been inspired by those epic fantasy series where you can get totally lost in the world, where you share the hopes and fears of the characters and nothing less than the fate of the world is at stake. I wanted to write a series like that. I hope my characters are the kind of people my readers want to spend time with and I hope the world I created is one they care about. If they do, then I’ve done my job as a writer.
I do all my writing in my spare bedroom. Sounds a bit uninspiring, right? However, I’m lucky enough to live in a very beautiful patch of countryside so I can look out of the window and see rolling hills and trees. I love to sit with the window open and listen to the birds as I write.
I think it’s my experience as a reader that I’ve used in The Songmaker series. As I’ve mentioned, I’ve always loved do-or-die fantasies so I thought about what my readers would want to see in such a series and wrote it in. I hope I got it right.
My top main writing influences are: –

1. JRR Tolkien I’m sure every fantasy writer says this but it’s true. Reading The Lord of The Rings as a nine-year-old was one of the pivotal moments of my life. It’s what made me decide I wanted to be a writer and a fantasy writer at that.

2. Stephen Donaldson His Thomas Covenant Trilogy still ranks as one of the best I’ve ever read. He brings an intensity to his characters and to his writing that few other authors can. Most of his characters are anti-heroes to a certain extent and yet he is able to still have readers rooting for them.

3. Stephen Erikson His Malazan series was an eye-opener for me. I don’t think I’ve ever read a series on such an epic scale. His books spans millennia, different worlds and a host of characters. For me, he’s redefined what’s possible within the fantasy genre.

I’m currently finishing the third and final book in the series, The Traitor’s Song. Hopefully this will be out in the summer.
© Freya Pickard 2014

You can buy this novel at The King’s Mage It is available in both Kindle and Paperback editions.

To find out more about Elizabeth Baxter please visit Small Blonde Hippy
Come back next week to read an excerpt from The King’s Mage…
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Wednesday Words – Introducing “The King’s Mage””

  1. Libby Says:

    Wonderful books, talented writer. I can’t wait for the new book!


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

