Bowel Cancer and afterwards…

Thank you to everyone who has sent me prayers, thoughts and positive vibes over the last few months. It’s been the most horrendous ordeal so far of my life and I couldn’t have got through it without the grace of God and the help of my family and friends (that includes you, my readers).
In brief, I was diagnosed with bowel cancer in early July (no symptoms!) and had an emergency colostomy to save my life. A month later I had open surgery for a reverse colostomy, removal of the cancer and, due to complications during surgery, ended up having a sub-total hysterectomy as well.
It has taken me a while to get back on my feet again. I am now preparing for chemotherapy to make sure all the cancer has been dealt with. This I am looking forward to with some apprehension as it is a course of 12 treatments over 24 weeks. I have no idea how I will react to chemo, except that everyone has promised me I will get tired…
I still don’t know when my chemotherapy course will start, so I am scheduling some clippings that I wrote whilst recovering from first the colostomy and then the tumour removal. And I am finally posting some of my Inspiration series instead of Wednesday Words. Please bear with me as I don’t know how often I will have internet access. It may take me a while to catch up with you on your blog or reply to your emails.
I really appreciate the loyalty of you, my readers, while I have been away from the internet. Much love Freya xxx
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: freya pickard

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Bowel Cancer and afterwards…”


  1. Awful as it is, you caught it before any symptoms. For what my prayers are worth, I’ve been praying and thinking of you throughout this ordeal. I hope too that your cheomo goes fast. I’ve got my thumb stuck on fast forward. I never thoroughly comprehended “God speed.” Now I do.

  2. kanzensakura Says:

    I am sorry to hear all this, but so glad you are going to get better. I pray for you. I myself am a cancer survivor….I pray you will soon be and stay cancer free.


  3. Freya, I had no idea! Thank you for updating your readers, but I also think of you as a friend. Never doubt that you will be in my prayers. ❤

  4. Sue Vincent Says:

    Hi Freya,

    Glad to hear from you Freya. I hope the chemo is not too unpleasant for you.
    Continued good wishes and prayers for you to be back on your feet and healthy.

    As far as the hysterectomy is concerned… it has its benefits… I was obliged to have a total some 16 years ago.

    Love and light,
    Sue

  5. Libby Says:

    Wonderful to have you back. Hope the chemo doesn’t knock you back too much. Thinking of you and will write again soon.


  6. Dear Freya, Love and prayers and blessings for you

  7. Fi Phillips Says:

    So sorry to hear about your illness but it sounds as if you are having the best treatment. Take care, take it easy and be kind to yourself. We’ll all be here when you come back.


  8. It’s good to see you back, even if it might be intermittent while you get through the chemotherapy, and recovery. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts in my inbox again, and my wife and I will pray for a speedy recovery…


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

