Wednesday Words – Chapter Ten

This wasn’t where dragons lived, I thought. But who did live here? I thought about returning to the signpost for Mount Sydney. Maybe the dragons lived over there. But curiosity overcame me. Who lived behind the strange looking doors? I stepped up to the nearest one on the left hand side. The door was wooden and painted a thick, dull brown. It smelt of some kind of wood preservative whose name escaped me. (Still can’t think what it is. Must belong to the memories of what happened Before). I knocked sharply and listened. Inside there was an indistinct wheezing sort of noise. Like someone snorting or chesty, with a cold. I rapped again but the noise continued.
I crossed the track and hammered on the metal door there. It boomed quite nicely and I probably hammered longer than I should.
“Go away!” came a gruff, growly kind of voice…
This is an excerpt from Chapter Ten of my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014
Explore posts in the same categories: dragonscale leggings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

