Being…

I had started posting clippings about my chemotherapy last year, but found it too depressing. I’ve been reading my journals and re-discovering beautiful clippings about just being. So I’ve decided to post these instead of my miserable moanings…
Why “Being”? Before I fell ill last year, I would too often rush and cram too much into my day. One of the benefits of occasionally being Without Words and being unable to do anything, is that it makes me slow down, to wait and just be, instead of constantly “doing”. After all, as someone wise once said, ‘God created us Human Beings, not Human Doings.’ So, for the next few weeks I am going to share my thoughts on Being… Relax, focus on one thing at a time, and enjoy the journey.
© Freya Pickard 2015
Explore posts in the same categories: being

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Being…”

  1. Kev Says:

    Hope you are doing better. You shouldn’t feel bad about sharing things… it can be very therapeutic. I’m glad you’re still posting. 🙂

  2. SolariC Says:

    I have a hard time just ‘being’, also; I think something about the world we currently live in pushes us all to be doers. This reflection comes as a timely reminder…I really liked that quote. May I ask who the wise person who said it was?


    • yes, being unable to do anything at the moment as really taught me a lot about being… I’m afraid I can’t remember who the wise person was – I can’t even find it in my notebooks – it’s just something that’s stuck in my head – if I do find out, I will let you know!

  3. Libby Says:

    It’s good to be positive. Glad you are now able to think forwards but I think it has been good for you to record your trials and tribulations along the way.


    • yes, it has been cathartic but in this 2nd half of the chemo I need to think of other things, not the horridness that I’m experiencing… I am putting together a book of poetry that’s come out of all this awfulness and it’s incredibly positive! am also going to try and write a fictional account of my experiences as I’ve learnt so much recently… but this’ll be for when I’m completely over the chemo – I never knew such tiredness existed before.

  4. Sue Vincent Says:

    Hope you are doing okay, Freya x

  5. kanzensakura Says:

    I hope the chemo is helping you. And you are right, we are human Beings. When I was a little one, I thought it was human “bean”. My grandmother used to plant scarlet runners to make shade for our side porch and the seeds looked like beans. I’d watch them sprout and grow and soon, there were these wonderful thick green vines with beautiful red flowers. I thought, as a child, what a wonderful thing to be….and when I heard “bloom where you’re planted”, I’d look at those vines and flowers. Somehow, in my child’s mind, it all connected, being beans and growing. When you start writing about being, it sounds like you are blooming where you are planted, being a human bean. I’m looking forward to seeing those beans sprout and the beautiful vines and flowers that will come from them. Blessings to you and I wish you the best with your chemo and illness.


    • oh how lovely! thank you for sharing this kanzensakura – it’s really lifted my spirits (very important during these days) I hope the chemo is helping – won’t find out until April/May… love the human beans and blooming where you’re planted! see my reply to Libby re the fruit that’s coming out of all my experiences…!

      • kanzensakura Says:

        I did read that reply. Poetry, thoughts for new fiction – those beans are definitely sprouting. I am a cancer survivor and it’s true, the fatique is a whole ‘nother dimension. It is hard to bloom when you are so tired, but just rest easy, be easy on yourself, and just let all those positive thoughts spring forth. I certainly am sending positive thoughts your way. And since you read my post about Setsubun, get you some soybeans to throw out the door and say, out demons, in good luck and health. It may not work, but it’s fun. and if it can make you smile, it has already thrown out one demon. Blessings


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

