Chapter Twenty

There were two doors behind the supper table and I chose the right hand one. It was an iron latch affair and I lifted it without thinking. Expecting the door to just give way before me, I was shocked to find I’d walked straight into it. The latch snapped down pinching my thumb.
“Oy!” I said loudly. “I just want to look! I’m not going to steal anything!”
The door shifted slightly in its frame as if to say ‘You’re not entering here!’ Honestly! It was worse than contending with Tygar! Anyway, doors shouldn’t be animate objects.
I lifted the latch again and pushed, only to be met with resistance. I whipped my thumb out of the way as the latch dropped down again. I kicked the door hard and it shuddered slightly and appeared to expand into the frame. As it did this it made a slight creaking sound and I had the distinct impression it was laughing at me. I glared at it.
“Listen to me,” I said very quietly. “When I lift the latch, you will open and let me into the room. Do you hear?”
The wooden silence was broken by Piera …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2015
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

