Chapter Twenty Two

I try the hind legs of the skin on for size. Just right as a pair of leggings. I slip the forearms on and feel the skin shrinking to fit my back. How about a dragonscale jacket? What about a dragonscale hat? No. I don’t think so. I try to take the head off but it’s stuck fast. Everything looks a little strange. I think the cave mouth has shrunk.
I breathe deeply and stretch my wings. My wings? I squint over my shoulder. Oh yes. I’ve got wings now. I can fly! Can I? I run a few steps and leap into the air beating my wings up and down. Shells! I’m flying! This is amazing. I’ve always wanted to do this. Up and down go my wings and I’m surging through the air. This is brilliant. I could go anywhere.
I glance down to see if I can find the path I followed yesterday. Bad move. Forgot I don’t like heights…
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2015
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

