tanka 6

fear seizes belly
cold claws, horror enfolds me;
chemotherapy
benefits outweigh the risk
I steel myself for the fight
© Freya Pickard 2015
Explore posts in the same categories: tanka

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “tanka 6”

  1. Yayo Says:

    I trust you’re much better now?


  2. its a lot of courage!


  3. It is well, Freya. This too shall pass. 🙂

  4. Libby Says:

    I’m sure it must be frightening. Be brave. Thinking of you.


    • it’s ok, I wrote this tanka in September last year when it was suddenly announced I need chemo – it was a real shock to me and writing about it helped release the tension. I have to say, it was far worse than I expected… I’d rather go through major open surgery again and recover from that than do chemo…

      • reocochran Says:

        I am sorry you had to go through this. My Dad was not happy feeling sick with chemo and yet, some recover and live years afterwards. Interesting how you expressed your preference for major surgery. Take care and thank you for your nice compliment on my Doors post.


        • my sympathies to your dad… I was on a dose of chemo that supposedly didn’t have sickness/nausea with it, but as it went on, the nausea increased – horrid! what I hated about chemo is the way it made me feel dead. however, painful and frustrating it was recovering from open surgery, at least I knew I was alive because of the pain and because each day I improved a little bit more. the chemo made me less and less active and more and more tired…


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

