Wednesday Words – Parchment Poll November 2015

Here I am again with a new Parchment Poll…
STAR READ
Sword of Destiny by Sue Vincent A beautiful, gentle, magical read. I absolutely loved the way the author portrays Merlin!
Brilliant books – will re-read
The Letter of Marque by Patrick O’Brian Swash-buckling action and a lovely, romantic ending for Maturin. Daphne’s Diary #6 2015 Full of colours and ideas – just reading this gets my creative juices going again… Mslexia # 67 Thoroughly enjoyed the articles and interviews; always inspiring and encouraging. Just didn’t “get” the winning poems though… Boxen by C S Lewis Think Shakespeare meets Beatrix Potter. Hilarious spelling but amazing usage of English for a school age boy… A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin Took a while to get into it and then discovered my favourite character died! Definitely will read more, as am now intrigued by the Daenerys storyline! Daphne’s Diary #7 2015 Colourful, autumnal and highly inspirational! Achieving Abundant Energy by Cathy Robinson Needs to be re-read; there’s so much information in it!
Interesting but probably won’t re-read
The Coral Island by R M Ballantyne Enjoyable read but a bit preachy in places. Interzone #260 3/5 of the stories were worth reading this time… but none of the reviews made me want to watch/read the films/books… Inkheart by Cornelia Funke Very difficult to get into. I liked the ideas but it was hard-going…
Re-reads
Daphne by Justine Picardie This is such a good book to re-read and lose oneself in a land of make-believe and reality… Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier This book still holds my attention, creeps me out and shivers my spine – and it’s 25 years since I first read it! … Clearing Away The Rubbish by Adrian Plass Hilarious and poignant by turns, this is a challenging and encouraging read. Dune by Frank Herbert Possibly the best sic-fi novel ever written (in my opinion!) and I never tire of re-reading it.
Currently reading: –
Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?
© Freya Pickard 2015
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Parchment Poll November 2015”

  1. Jennifer G. Knoblock Says:

    I love love all the Aubrey/Maturin novels. I always feel I’m slogging through Funke as well. Maybe it’s the translations? I’ll give her the benefit of the doubt. I am going to find Sword of Destiny and Rebecca. Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. Frank Says:

    I agree about Dune, although Dune Messiah affects me more deeply.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

