Wednesday Words – Parchment Poll April 2016

Here I am again with the first Parchment Poll of 2016…
STAR READ
Scifaikuest November 2015 Exciting, chilling and entertaining. If you don’t yet subscribe to it, try it! (And one of my haiku appears on page 7…!)
Brilliant books – will re-read
The Little Book of Yorkshire Customs & Folklore A funny little book of quaint tales and lore. It will be useful for basing stories/poems on when I have no inspiration myself…
Wordplay by Gyles Brandreth Brilliantly written. Fascinating discussions. I learnt so much about my mother tongue. This is going on the shelf beside the dictionary and thesaurus.
Dial 174 #105 A beautiful spring and Easter read. A plethora of poetry and some interesting stories and anecdotes. The 2 poems that really spoke to me were Easter Sunday by L Grinter and Words by A Coleman for their use of language, rhythm and flow. Oh, and 2 of my poems, The King Must Die and Nymph Song appear in it!
The Servant Queen by M Green & C Butcher I was really fortunate to be given this booklet as a present. It is heart-warming and inspiring insight into our monarch. She truly is a servant to our nation.
The Thirteen Gun Salute by P O’Brian Another swash-buckling tale of Aubery & Maturin. I love the way the author tells his tale – he breaks all the creative writing rules! But he leaves the reader on such a cliff-hanger…
Interesting but probably won’t re-read
Dragonrider by Cornelia Funke Good pace to this story but I found the characters a little flat. Odd blend of folklore too that for me, didn’t quite gel.
Inkheart by Cornelia Funke Very difficult to get into. I liked the ideas but it was hard-going…Inkspell by Cornelia Funke Maybe slightly easier to read – perhaps I am getting used to her style. It’s not easy though. The ideas are brilliant but the language is clumsy. Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke Again it was a struggle to read this book. The author’s ideas are really brilliant but the story is such a slog to get through…
Mslexia 69 I like the new style and layout. The articles are worth reading. But oh dear! The stories and poems are just awful…
Current Read
The Nutmeg of Consolation by Patrick O’Brian
Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?
© Freya Pickard 2016
Explore posts in the same categories: wednesday words

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Wednesday Words – Parchment Poll April 2016”

  1. Libby Says:

    All new to me. Have thought of trying the Cornelia Funke books, but now I’m so sure!


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

