butterfly cinquains…

Thank you for exploring the short form of Elfje with me over the last few weeks. Hope you enjoyed the form as much as I did!
As I mentioned in June, I’m staying on this blog for a while…
Over the next few weeks I will posting some Butterfly Cinquains. This form was particularly useful to me in 2015 when I was recovering from surgery and chemotherapy. The form enabled my mind to focus for short periods of time and allowed me to connect with the world around me and to finally access my imagination once more.
A Butterfly Cinquain is composed of nine lines. The first line has 2 syllables, the second line has 4 syllables, the third line has 6 syllables, the fourth line has 8 syllables, the fifth line has 2 syllables, the sixth line has 8 syllables, the seventh line has 6 syllables, the eighth line has 4 syllables and the ninth line has 2 syllables. When centred, this creates the shape of a butterfly with its wings open.
The fact that my first Butterfly Cinquain was written about a butterfly, was purely coincidental! I hope you enjoy this form and will be inspired to try it out yourself.
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at The Essence of Thyme and Patreon
Explore posts in the same categories: butterfly cinquain, elfje

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

