Dragonscale Leggings – an excerpt

26th June, Mid-Morning
Who am I? Where am I? And what on earth am I doing here in the blazing hot sun outside a cave in the middle of a mountainous wilderness with the decaying carcass of some huge monster? I’m wearing really strange clothes and a green cloak type of thing. This cloak has pockets and in them I’ve found this notebook and pencil and something that makes me want to call it tinder and flint. Notebook is bound in leather with recycled type paper inside. The pencil is thick and stubby. The corpse really stinks. I feel sick.
Lunchtime
On the way to be sick (not sure where I was going, there aren’t any loos round here), I found a white horse. It just stared at me and when I started throwing up behind one of the grey boulders lying around, it trotted off. I lay down for a bit, feeling vulnerable and pathetic. The white horse re-appeared while I was still feeling yuck and looked me up and down as if it knew me. Hauling myself to my feet I staggered over to it and hung onto its neck. It then led me step by step to a little gully where – how wonderful! – there was a stream! Water never tasted so good! Have a splitting headache so am going to sleep in the shade of a rock near the stream.
Teatime?
Headache gone. Stomach churning – perhaps the water was polluted. Feel light-headed. Horse has disappeared again. Sun not so hot. Brains completely scrambled. Am I really myself? I ask this because I am wearing the oddest pair of leggings I’ve ever seen. They look like grey and purple mottled scales. Very odd. I don’t remember buying them. I’m wearing knee-length leather boots, which are making my feet hot. I didn’t buy them either. The T-shirt I’m wearing I bought at a student sale. Aha! So I’m a student! What of and where at?
These are the opening paragraphs to my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, which is now available as an e-book!
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at Dragonscale Leggings, The Rusalka Ritual, The Essence of Thyme and Patreon
Explore posts in the same categories: Published

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Dragonscale Leggings – an excerpt”

  1. Libby Says:

    Good luck with the e-book sales.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

