Escape Pod Emulation for Jane Dougherty

Welcome to my first ever Escape Pod Emulation! Today, I welcome author Jane Dougherty to tell us what 5 important things she would take with her in her escape pod…
I’m assuming I’d be able to use the ship’s computer to keep on writing. If I couldn’t write I’d go out of my mind. So I’m not going to ask for pencils and paper, or even a Word program. I might also go out of my mind if I couldn’t see anything but endless darkness, so for my first item could I please have a telescope to make some sense out of the bits of space that I’ll see floating past the window?
There’s bound to be music on the computer, You Tube I imagine, but I’ll need something to watch, and favourite film for laughs and feel-good factor has to be The Sound of Music. I’ve always owned a copy of The Box of Delights since I was first given it to read as a child, so I’ll take that to recreate childhood — sod War and Peace.
I’ll take my grandmother’s wedding ring because of all that it represents—she took it off and handed it to me one day saying I was as good as married, and she and my grandad had a bond that didn’t need a gold ring. Last thing would be the audio cassette of my dad reading some of his poems, because he had a beautiful voice, and he was my dad.
Jane Dougherty is the author of a number of fantastical books. She writes poetry and novels, some published, a whole heap waiting in the wings. She’s had a lot of dreams come true — luckily, becoming rich and famous was never a serious contender.
Come back tomorrow for my review of the first in Jane’s Green Woman Trilogy, The Dark Citadel.
And if you’re wondering what on earth an Escape Pod Interview is all about, please read Escape Pod Emulation.
© Freya Pickard 2016
Explore posts in the same categories: Escape Pod Emulations

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Escape Pod Emulation for Jane Dougherty”

  1. Bun Karyudo Says:

    That was an interesting question. I enjoyed reading Jane’s answers. 🙂

  2. merrildsmith Says:

    Love this, Jane. (And Freya).
    The audio cassette of your dad reading–OK–that made me tear up.

  3. Libby Says:

    Very touching choice – and the wonderful ‘Box of Delights’ too!

  4. TanGental Says:

    Very touching Jane, though I might have snuck in War & Peace…


  5. Reblogged this on Jane Dougherty Writes and commented:
    This is Freya Pickard’s version of Desert Island Discs, a sort of Outer Space Treasures. I am her first guest to explain her personal choice of five treasured items.


  6. Thank you Freya! A great way to start the week. For me, anyway 🙂


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

