Escape Pod Emulation for Christy Birmingham

Here is another Escape Pod Emulation! A warm welcome to author, Christy Birmingham!
So here I am, in this e-pod, and I’m feeling a bit claustrophobic. I better slow down my breathing to conserve the oxygen. Luckily, if I feel lightheaded, it won’t really matter too much as I’m not steering this contraption.
I settle into the console chair, knowing I’ll be here a while, and open up the cloth bag that rests on my lap. Inside, I find my five things here. Only five. It was quite the ordeal to decide what to take with me. I take out each item, one by one.
1. A Book. I find security in the familiarity of the book Surfacing by Margaret Atwood, which I have read several times and contains a handwritten note from my mom on the first page.
2. A Pillow. If I’m going to get some decent sleep, then I definitely want to bring my pillow with me; it will provide some comfort in this strange environment.
3. A Stuffed Dog. My friend bought the stuffie for me at the hospital gift shop when I was there recovering, in the midst of a tough time; stroking his ears still helps me to relax, just like it did back then. It was following my release from the hospital that I began to write Pathways to Illumination, which chronicles a woman’s struggles with depression and anxiety after an abusive relationship ends.

4. A Stationary Set (Includes Pen and Paper). Ok, I cheated a little bit here as I didn’t include the sheets and pen as separate items but, well, I was creative, so bonus points for that, right? I would take notes on what I see and think about during this once-in-a-lifetime adventure.
5. A Photograph. This photo is of my parents and I on the patio of a restaurant, smiling as we enjoyed a nice meal together; the photo would help keep my spirit strong, and I would not feel quite so isolated either.
Oh and if you are wondering why I wouldn’t pack my beautiful dancing shoes that I wear for salsa classes, it’s because there is not enough room for this type of dance in the pod and I would not have a partner. But I could still chair dance, right? I do car dancing all the time, so it’s not that much of a stretch.
Christy Birmingham is an avid freelance writer and blogger who lives in British Columbia, Canada. She is the proud owner of the blogs Poetic Parfait and When Women Inspire. She has written two poetry books and plans to release her first book of fiction next year.
You can connect with Christy at
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Come back tomorrow for my review of her poetry collection, Versions of the Self….
And if you’re wondering what on earth an Escape Pod Interview is all about, please read Escape Pod Emulation.
© Freya Pickard 2016
Explore posts in the same categories: Escape Pod Emulations

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Escape Pod Emulation for Christy Birmingham”


  1. Fun exercise in ‘downsizing’ what we’d bring in the smallest, tightest of spaces. And yes, chair dancing is allowed, and actually quite necessary. I do it all the time too. 🙂

  2. milliethom Says:

    Great choices, Christy and very understandable logic behind each. The inclusion of the photo of you with your parents was particularly touching and, like you, I don’t venture anywhere without my own pillow. 🙂


  3. Good luck and if I you meet Major Tom say hello. 😀

  4. Sheila Says:

    I love the stuffed dog idea because it sounds like he could turn claustrophobia into coziness. I’m going to have to read Surfacing now – thanks for that recommendation!

  5. Melissa Says:

    I can totally see the thought you put into your items. Great read!

  6. jbcowgill Says:

    P.S. I am following you on Twitter.

  7. jbcowgill Says:

    Oh I hope that you can find some space. I hope that you can be on a nice grassy field running barefoot instead of being enclosed.


  8. Christy, a great post. What you have chosen says everything about you. I loved this xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  9. Clanmother Says:

    Excellent Christy – your priorities would be my priorities!

  10. Billybuc Says:

    Christy is one of my favorite online friends, so thank you for spotlighting her today.


  11. Christy, You are brave because I am claustrophobic!! Just thinking about being in any enclosed space is like a horror scene from a Vincent Price Dr. Phibes film!! As a result I will never be an astronaut and at my age I’m always going to the bathroom!! LOL!!


  12. Great choices Christy… well prepared as always…

    Hugs

  13. Christy B Says:

    Reblogged this on Poetic Parfait and commented:
    I’m in an epod at Freya Pickard​’s blog today. I am only allowed to pack five things with me on this adventure… What will I take? Read on to find out!

  14. Christy B Says:

    Thanks again Freya for having me over to visit and challenging me with the epod experience!!


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

