Review: Versions of The Self

I bought this collection because I’ve been following Christy’s blogs for a while and I enjoy her writing. I chose Versions of the Self because it is her most recent publication and I loved the splashes of colour on the front cover!
What struck me about these poems was the personal nature and themes they explore. This is a poet being honest and unpretentious. The poems are collected into themes which explore the different aspects of Christy. This is not a collection to breeze through. This collection is one to re-read again and again. On each re-read I am finding new things, discovering different viewpoints.
My three favourite poems are:
Never Now: A positive look back at a failure in life; You are caged into / A piece of the last chapter / And my words fill / The present page.
See My Sense of Self: An intriguing exploration of how the poet sees herself versus the person who thinks they know her: You see it is a version of me, virtual / That you have come to know… / I am more than a / smiling photo.
The Scampering Poem: A light-hearted yet serious viewpoint on how we let life run away with us, how we’re maybe even too busy to finish reading the poem! I know exactly what the poet means by; Life is humming away in your mind, with thoughts of / What to make for dinner…
Challenging but not disturbing. Inspiring, even in the sorrowful verses. Christy Birmingham is a writer to follow!
Click here to buy your copy of Versions of the Self
Follow Christy Birmingham at Poetic Parfait and When Women Inspire.
© Freya Pickard 2016
Explore posts in the same categories: review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Review: Versions of The Self”

  1. Ste J Says:

    I see you are a fan too! I am looking forward for everything to calm down so I can indulge in a reread.


  2. […] first one is from talented writer Freya Pickard, who wrote on her Drangonscale Clippings […]

  3. Resa Says:

    I love this collection, and have read it twice. It is a very worthy book to own! I love the review.

  4. Christy B Says:

    Reblogged this on When Women Inspire and commented:
    Today I received a wonderful review of Versions of the Self from Freya Pickard. My day is all the brighter for it! Thank you Freya and all who support my books, blogs, and dreams. ♥ Christy

  5. Christy B Says:

    Thank you Freya for the wonderful review! I am honored that you read and re-read the book. It’s also great to know which poems were your favorite from the collection. I am smiling 🙂


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

