How I choose covers for short stories …

A few weeks ago I posted about how I choose covers for my novels. Today I want to talk about choosing covers for short stories.
Stories are different from Novels in their length, structure and aim. With a short story, you have to be in the storytelling world immediately. The action has to happen quickly and there needs to be a good resolution before the end of the tale. So far, I’ve published a single short story plus one short story collection.
I had very clear ideas on what I wanted for The Essence of Thyme. As the first in a series (originally published as a free read in my Newsletter) I wanted the covers of the following books to link back to this one.
I knew from the start that I wanted a vast green globe on the front to portray the green globe mentioned towards the end of the story. (It is key to the following two stories as well). JBH suggested the shadowed lattice work giving the cover a slightly darker, more haunted feel. This, I felt, went suitably with the silent castle and slightly puzzling enchantment of Lord Thyme’s son.
I knew I didn’t want a fairy tale picture because although this story is a re-telling of Sleeping Beauty, it is most definitely NOT a sugar sweet, happy ending …

I came across the picture I used for The Rusalka Ritual & Other Stories when I was going through Kombmaker’s portfolio. As soon as I saw it, I recognised it as being the woodland that the companions travel through in The Rusalka Ritual.
When JBH came to manipulate the painting, I advised him on the part of it that had to appear on the front cover, namely the waterfall with the golden light above it. Surprisingly, JBH stretched the painting digitally, cutting off the trees to either side. But boy, did it work! I was so pleased with it. At JBH’s suggestion, we used that particular font with red ink, to make it look as though the words were written in blood …
This collection is a series of fairy tales, but there aren’t necessarily any fairy tale endings, which I why I think the cover works; it makes me think of Grimm’s fairy stories. My tales will make you laugh, but there’s always something slightly sinister about Dracomagan’s Otherworld.
As always, I’m trying to be different! Do you think I’ve succeeded? Which of these books would you buy?
© Freya Pickard 2017
Explore posts in the same categories: books

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “How I choose covers for short stories …”

  1. macalder02 Says:

    First of all I will see how I do to have your books. In Venezuela we have a problem for the control of changes and even in Amazon it is not difficult to use.


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

