Posted tagged ‘dragon slayer’

Why should I conform to stereotype?

4 July, 2017

Dragonscale Leggings is a dangerous book to read.

Why? Because if you don’t have a sense of humour, hate strong female leads and don’t like fantasy worlds, you’ll be wasting your time reading it.

But, if you love all of the above, you may well find this novel a very enjoyable read! I don’t like writing about stereotypes and in this book I write about “characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, (that) are never stereotypical” (E Leaper). I also write a “parody of the fantasy genre … lampooning its conventions and tropes” (Troy).

This is chick-lit in a fantasy world. Think Alice in Wonderland meets Bridget Jones’ Diary. Come and adventure with Dracomagan and her trusty stallion, Tygar, as they travel through the Otherworld, trying to find her memory, evade Merlin and keep on the right side of the law.

She goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. E Baxter

Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

The tale only costs £2.40 / $3.00 at most online stores and the video about it can be found at YouTube.

© Freya Pickard 2017

Advertisements

Dragonscale Leggings – still only 99p!

22 November, 2016

There’s still a day and half for those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, to buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for only 99p!

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Make my day!

Flexible Armoury

3 October, 2016

This Freyan Verse is based on my novel Dragonscale Leggings which has recently been released as an e-book! The idea of Freyan Verse is that the poem can be read both vertically and horizontally. What do you think? Will you give it a go?
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at YouTube

enchantment…

18 March, 2016
sage clears his head
her return depresses him
intrigued by her story, he listens
caught in the web
he picks out enchantment
divines the green globe mystery
cherita © Freya Pickard 2016
What’s this about? Find out on Wednesday, 23rd March 2016…

Wednesday Words – dragon slaying

11 November, 2015
Dracomagan – who is she?
If you’ve read my novel, Dragonscale Clippings, you’ll know who I’m talking about. She was my alter ego at one time – visit Creation of Dracomagan to find out how she sprang into existence.
Dracomagan is of medium height and slim build; muscular rather than curvy, but not butch. She has long, dark hair that’s always in a mess. She wears long boots, dragonscale leggings and a leather jerkin. Her weapon of choice is a giant double-bladed potato peeler that she carries with her in a cylindrical scabbard slung over her back. She has ice-blue eyes and doesn’t suffer fools gladly. Her occupation is officially Dragon Slayer, but she also has experience of slaying lots of other monsters too.
But what does she actually do? Apart from slaying dragons, ogres, goblins and the like?
She did allow me to interview her once, though that wasn’t an entire success. And she did once review Dragonscale Leggings; she’s of the opinion I didn’t get it quite right – what do you think?
Dracomagan finds adventure and conflict wherever she goes. I’ve written many short stories about her and several novellas. She lingers in my mind, nagging me to write more about her. And I will. Recovering from the trauma in 2014 has taken its toll; but wanting to write about my bad-tempered, blunt to the point of rudeness, down-to-earth, brave and loyal heroine, spurs me on to get back my full strength.
Meantime, if you need to find out what Dracomagan is currently getting up to, request my Newsletter and read the First Episode of The Essence of Thyme.
© Freya Pickard 2015

Chapter Twenty Two

4 March, 2015
I try the hind legs of the skin on for size. Just right as a pair of leggings. I slip the forearms on and feel the skin shrinking to fit my back. How about a dragonscale jacket? What about a dragonscale hat? No. I don’t think so. I try to take the head off but it’s stuck fast. Everything looks a little strange. I think the cave mouth has shrunk.
I breathe deeply and stretch my wings. My wings? I squint over my shoulder. Oh yes. I’ve got wings now. I can fly! Can I? I run a few steps and leap into the air beating my wings up and down. Shells! I’m flying! This is amazing. I’ve always wanted to do this. Up and down go my wings and I’m surging through the air. This is brilliant. I could go anywhere.
I glance down to see if I can find the path I followed yesterday. Bad move. Forgot I don’t like heights…
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2015

Wednesday Words – Chapter Nine

12 November, 2014
It’s been a difficult day. Gatus insisted I ride at the back of the column. Tygar wanted to lead. I understand Gatus wanting me at the back – in case the dragon attacks us. But would Tygar listen? I think he wanted to strut along like a king in front of his harem. I reminded him that they weren’t his mares. But he didn’t want to know. After I called him an ‘incorrigible reprobate’ he went on one of his ‘I hate you and the entire world’ moods. My arms feel three times the length they were this morning. He’s been having it easy for too long.
We’ve been travelling north west for a week, across the yellow grassed plains (that was poetic wasn’t it?!), following a south flowing river in search of a ford. Kaga and I have been having sword practice everything evening between making camp and supper. (I think I’ve improved – he didn’t have a word of criticism last night!) Why is it that all the nice men are taken…
This is an excerpt from Chapter Nine of my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014

%d bloggers like this: