Posted tagged ‘dragons’

Why should I conform to stereotype?

4 July, 2017

Dragonscale Leggings is a dangerous book to read.

Why? Because if you don’t have a sense of humour, hate strong female leads and don’t like fantasy worlds, you’ll be wasting your time reading it.

But, if you love all of the above, you may well find this novel a very enjoyable read! I don’t like writing about stereotypes and in this book I write about “characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, (that) are never stereotypical” (E Leaper). I also write a “parody of the fantasy genre … lampooning its conventions and tropes” (Troy).

This is chick-lit in a fantasy world. Think Alice in Wonderland meets Bridget Jones’ Diary. Come and adventure with Dracomagan and her trusty stallion, Tygar, as they travel through the Otherworld, trying to find her memory, evade Merlin and keep on the right side of the law.

She goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. E Baxter

Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

The tale only costs £2.40 / $3.00 at most online stores and the video about it can be found at YouTube.

© Freya Pickard 2017

Advertisements

Dragonscale Leggings …

14 December, 2016

This novel is a parody of the genre Freya loves best; fantasy. In it, she gently pokes fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next?

Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, 24Symbols and Scribd.

Watch the video about it at here

Dragonscale Leggings is currently only available as an e-book, the paperback version will be re-issued in 2017.

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

This is an excellent parody of the fantasy genre, and the authoress does a smashing good job of lampooning its conventions and tropes while telling a compelling story with memorable characters. What happens at the end will surprise you. Troy

Dracomagan is a kick ass 21st-century gal who winds up in a land of Arthurian legend with the job of being a dragon slayer. But she doesn’t let this get in her way, and goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. This is a heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it. There is a great supporting cast as well, including some very delicate dragons and some less than chivalrous knights. But the best supporting character has to be Tygar, Dracomagan’s horse who could easily have a book all to himself. The interplay between Dracomagan and Tygar provide lots of the laugh out loud moments in the book. E Baxter

Freya Pickard is an adept of the genre and whilst her writing is richly vibrant, her plots intricately woven, her narratives are always immediately accessible to any kind of reader. Easy to get into, hard to put down. A most enjoyable read. L Turner

Dragonscale Leggings – still only 99p!

22 November, 2016

There’s still a day and half for those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, to buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for only 99p!

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Make my day!

Dragonscale Leggings – only 99p!

21 November, 2016

For a VERY limited time (3 days only), those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, can buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for just 99p!

The narrative takes the form of a diary; think Alice In Wonderland meets Bridget Jones. Originally written as chick lit for dragons (yes, some of them are literate!) this tale also appeals to humans.

This novel is a parody of the genre I love best; fantasy. In it, I gently poke fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Treat yourself!

Flexible Armoury

3 October, 2016

This Freyan Verse is based on my novel Dragonscale Leggings which has recently been released as an e-book! The idea of Freyan Verse is that the poem can be read both vertically and horizontally. What do you think? Will you give it a go?
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at YouTube

Dragonscale Leggings – an excerpt

21 September, 2016

26th June, Mid-Morning
Who am I? Where am I? And what on earth am I doing here in the blazing hot sun outside a cave in the middle of a mountainous wilderness with the decaying carcass of some huge monster? I’m wearing really strange clothes and a green cloak type of thing. This cloak has pockets and in them I’ve found this notebook and pencil and something that makes me want to call it tinder and flint. Notebook is bound in leather with recycled type paper inside. The pencil is thick and stubby. The corpse really stinks. I feel sick.
Lunchtime
On the way to be sick (not sure where I was going, there aren’t any loos round here), I found a white horse. It just stared at me and when I started throwing up behind one of the grey boulders lying around, it trotted off. I lay down for a bit, feeling vulnerable and pathetic. The white horse re-appeared while I was still feeling yuck and looked me up and down as if it knew me. Hauling myself to my feet I staggered over to it and hung onto its neck. It then led me step by step to a little gully where – how wonderful! – there was a stream! Water never tasted so good! Have a splitting headache so am going to sleep in the shade of a rock near the stream.
Teatime?
Headache gone. Stomach churning – perhaps the water was polluted. Feel light-headed. Horse has disappeared again. Sun not so hot. Brains completely scrambled. Am I really myself? I ask this because I am wearing the oddest pair of leggings I’ve ever seen. They look like grey and purple mottled scales. Very odd. I don’t remember buying them. I’m wearing knee-length leather boots, which are making my feet hot. I didn’t buy them either. The T-shirt I’m wearing I bought at a student sale. Aha! So I’m a student! What of and where at?
These are the opening paragraphs to my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, which is now available as an e-book!
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at Dragonscale Leggings, The Rusalka Ritual, The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

ice-blue eyes

20 September, 2016
lone
woman
warrior
lost, confused rider
tangled hair, ice-blue eyes
longsword, potato peeler
to recover her memories
clarity pyramid © Freya Pickard 2016
As I announced yesterday, my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, has finally been launched as an e-book! Please feel free to share and re-blog this post!

I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at Dragonscale Leggings, The Rusalka Ritual, The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

%d bloggers like this: