Posted tagged ‘heresy’

Dragonscale Leggings – still only 99p!

22 November, 2016

There’s still a day and half for those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, to buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for only 99p!

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Make my day!

Advertisements

Chapter Seventeen

19 December, 2014
“Why should Merlin help me anyway?” I still felt nervous of the magician’s name.
Piera shrugged again. “He’s the most powerful man in existence. He can even overturn legal rulings here in Camelot II.”
“That might come in useful if I’m found guilty of Heresy.” I snorted. “If he hears about the death sentence in time!”
“That’s why I’m here,” Piera said.
“Did you see my advert then?”
“What advert?” he frowned.
“The one I placed in the Camelot Gossip.”
“The Camelot Gossip doesn’t have an advert column,” he said slowly.
“I’ll give that warder more than a bloody nose next time I see him!” I set my jaw and glared at the corridor.
“I’m quite prepared to act as your defence,” Piera interrupted my ruminations. “If you want a defence.”
“Yes!” I turned to look at him, suddenly feeling very grateful for his company …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
Wishing all my readers a very Happy Christmas! See you again in the New Year!
© Freya Pickard 2014

Chapter Sixteen

18 December, 2014
“The defendant appears before you this morning on the charge of Heresy as well as the minor charges of Threatening Behaviour and Obstructing a Knight of the Round Table in the Course of his Duty.”
Lord Pelles nodded slowly. “Did you hear all that?” he asked me.
I opened my mouth to respond and a short but loud belch escaped me. It was pretty good. Lord Pelles nearly fell off his high chair, the warders began making strangled noises again and the watching crowd sniggered.
“Oh! I do beg your pardon!” I said in what I hoped was a surprised fashion. “It just popped out!”
Lord Pelles’ cheeks were nearly purple but as he straightened his wig I noticed that he was biting his lip. Was he trying not to laugh? Sir Feist-Orsa and the knights sitting on front row of benches did not look impressed …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014

%d bloggers like this: