Posted tagged ‘knights’

One day I went out to fight a dragon …

4 December, 2018

I got up this morning and put on my new leggings.

“They’re nice.” Claire said brightly. “Where did you get them from?”

“The market.” I replied, pulling a purple tie-dye T-shirt over my head. “They were the last pair there!”

“Nice colours!” Abigail rolled her ‘r’s as only the Cornish can do.

“They’re my dragonscale leggings.” I told them.

They looked at each other with an ‘Oh dear, she’s off again’ look.

“And I think I’ll go and fight a dragon today!”

“Why not?” They said. “We’ve got teaching practice. See you this evening!”

Why not? I thought to myself. If there was to be a story about how dragonscales were made into leggings, how would it start? One day I went out to fight a dragon… But you don’t find dragons just anywhere. There aren’t many around nowadays.

In the Other World there’s plenty still. Of course, most of them are getting old and decrepit, but they are dragons. The thing is, they don’t live in these parts of the woods. Look at it all. Blue sky, green leaves, sunlight slanting between the tree trunks. I can hear the lilting voices of nymphs and dryads calling to each other as they flit about the streams and around the boles of trees. Walking sedately in and out of the cool shadows I see the equine forms of centaurs. And here and there gleams the finely polished horn of a unicorn. All this is very pleasant but it’s not what I’m looking for. And how did I get here anyway?!

I walk along the shady path, searching for signs of a dragon. I cannot see any fire-blasted glades, so I ask a dryad if there are any dragons nearby.

“Any what?” She looks puzzled, her green hair falling across her face.

“Dragons! You know, whopping great winged lizards that breathe fire.”

“Oh, them!” She flicks her hair back. “We haven’t seen any for years. Try the north. There might be some there.”

“Which way’s north?”

“The way you’re going.”

“Thanks!” But she’s already disappeared under a leafy branch.

Just what is going on? I’m still dressed in my tie-dye T-shirt but instead of leggings, I’m wearing jogging bottoms. I thought I was meant to be attending a lecture today. Oh, well! This place seems far more interesting!

Want to read more? Dragonscale Leggings is now available as both an e-book and a paperback at Amazon UK & Amazon US! Find out more about this novel in my video at YouTube!

 © Freya Pickard 2018

Advertisements

Why should I conform to stereotype?

4 July, 2017

Dragonscale Leggings is a dangerous book to read.

Why? Because if you don’t have a sense of humour, hate strong female leads and don’t like fantasy worlds, you’ll be wasting your time reading it.

But, if you love all of the above, you may well find this novel a very enjoyable read! I don’t like writing about stereotypes and in this book I write about “characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, (that) are never stereotypical” (E Leaper). I also write a “parody of the fantasy genre … lampooning its conventions and tropes” (Troy).

This is chick-lit in a fantasy world. Think Alice in Wonderland meets Bridget Jones’ Diary. Come and adventure with Dracomagan and her trusty stallion, Tygar, as they travel through the Otherworld, trying to find her memory, evade Merlin and keep on the right side of the law.

She goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. E Baxter

Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

The tale only costs £2.40 / $3.00 at most online stores and the video about it can be found at YouTube.

© Freya Pickard 2017

Dragonscale Leggings …

14 December, 2016

This novel is a parody of the genre Freya loves best; fantasy. In it, she gently pokes fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next?

Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, 24Symbols and Scribd.

Watch the video about it at here

Dragonscale Leggings is currently only available as an e-book, the paperback version will be re-issued in 2017.

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

This is an excellent parody of the fantasy genre, and the authoress does a smashing good job of lampooning its conventions and tropes while telling a compelling story with memorable characters. What happens at the end will surprise you. Troy

Dracomagan is a kick ass 21st-century gal who winds up in a land of Arthurian legend with the job of being a dragon slayer. But she doesn’t let this get in her way, and goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. This is a heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it. There is a great supporting cast as well, including some very delicate dragons and some less than chivalrous knights. But the best supporting character has to be Tygar, Dracomagan’s horse who could easily have a book all to himself. The interplay between Dracomagan and Tygar provide lots of the laugh out loud moments in the book. E Baxter

Freya Pickard is an adept of the genre and whilst her writing is richly vibrant, her plots intricately woven, her narratives are always immediately accessible to any kind of reader. Easy to get into, hard to put down. A most enjoyable read. L Turner

Chronology

23 November, 2016

There are a number of stories about Dracomagan that have been published now, so, if you’d like to read them in order, here’s the chronological list (oldest first).
Dragonscale Leggings Dracomagan’s Diary currently e-book only

Echo Peak Part of The Rusalka Ritual Collection available in both e-book and paperback

The Truthseeker’s Tale – Patreon October 2016

A Mercenary’s Tale Part of The Rusalka Ritual Collection

The Rusalka Ritual Part of The Rusalka Ritual Collection

Once Upon A Darker, More Enchanted Time Part of The Rusalka Ritual Collection

The Essence of Thyme Available as an e-book

The Oil of Sage Currently only available to those who receive my free newsletter!

Dining At Sparkles – Patreon June 2016

A Picnic At Knole Part of The Rusalka Ritual Collection

Keep up to date with new additions to this list at Chronology

Dragonscale Leggings – still only 99p!

22 November, 2016

There’s still a day and half for those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, to buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for only 99p!

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Make my day!

Dragonscale Leggings – only 99p!

21 November, 2016

For a VERY limited time (3 days only), those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, can buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for just 99p!

The narrative takes the form of a diary; think Alice In Wonderland meets Bridget Jones. Originally written as chick lit for dragons (yes, some of them are literate!) this tale also appeals to humans.

This novel is a parody of the genre I love best; fantasy. In it, I gently poke fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Treat yourself!

Flexible Armoury

3 October, 2016

This Freyan Verse is based on my novel Dragonscale Leggings which has recently been released as an e-book! The idea of Freyan Verse is that the poem can be read both vertically and horizontally. What do you think? Will you give it a go?
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at YouTube

%d bloggers like this: