Posted tagged ‘merlin’

Dragonscale Leggings …

14 December, 2016

This novel is a parody of the genre Freya loves best; fantasy. In it, she gently pokes fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next?

Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, 24Symbols and Scribd.

Watch the video about it at here

Dragonscale Leggings is currently only available as an e-book, the paperback version will be re-issued in 2017.

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

This is an excellent parody of the fantasy genre, and the authoress does a smashing good job of lampooning its conventions and tropes while telling a compelling story with memorable characters. What happens at the end will surprise you. Troy

Dracomagan is a kick ass 21st-century gal who winds up in a land of Arthurian legend with the job of being a dragon slayer. But she doesn’t let this get in her way, and goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. This is a heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it. There is a great supporting cast as well, including some very delicate dragons and some less than chivalrous knights. But the best supporting character has to be Tygar, Dracomagan’s horse who could easily have a book all to himself. The interplay between Dracomagan and Tygar provide lots of the laugh out loud moments in the book. E Baxter

Freya Pickard is an adept of the genre and whilst her writing is richly vibrant, her plots intricately woven, her narratives are always immediately accessible to any kind of reader. Easy to get into, hard to put down. A most enjoyable read. L Turner

Advertisements

The Oil of Sage: Episode 4

12 December, 2016

Stiffly, he rose to his feet and straightened his back. Hobbling to the door he bolted it fast and then turned and extinguished all but one of the candles. He lifted a smooth, unadorned silver bowl from a shelf and set it on a low table near the embers of the fire. Beside the door stood a silver jug with water that his servant had collected last full moon from the hill streams nearby.
Carefully, the old man poured the water into the bowl, not spilling a drop. Setting the jug on the floor he waited for the water in the bowl to become still, feeling the ache in legs and back. He waited, feeling the minutes pass towards midnight. Eventually he stooped and breathed once on the water’s surface.
Mist swirled in the clear depths, parting to reveal rocky crags and moss-covered trees. Merlin stared silently, watching the visions as they unfolded to reveal a twisted, grey peak of stone. He shivered as he waved a hand over the bowl and the pictures vanished…
What has Merlin seen in the scrying bowl? What will Dracomagan and her friends do next in order to rescue Parsley’s lover?
The final episode of The Oil of Sage is now available to read – for FREE! Find out how to get your free copy of it (and the previous episodes) at Current Story.
Current subscribers to Freya’s Newsletter have already been sent the link to the newest episode. If you have not yet received it, please contact Freya on the email address mentioned on the Current Story Page, requesting it.
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at YouTube.

Dragonscale Leggings – an excerpt

21 September, 2016

26th June, Mid-Morning
Who am I? Where am I? And what on earth am I doing here in the blazing hot sun outside a cave in the middle of a mountainous wilderness with the decaying carcass of some huge monster? I’m wearing really strange clothes and a green cloak type of thing. This cloak has pockets and in them I’ve found this notebook and pencil and something that makes me want to call it tinder and flint. Notebook is bound in leather with recycled type paper inside. The pencil is thick and stubby. The corpse really stinks. I feel sick.
Lunchtime
On the way to be sick (not sure where I was going, there aren’t any loos round here), I found a white horse. It just stared at me and when I started throwing up behind one of the grey boulders lying around, it trotted off. I lay down for a bit, feeling vulnerable and pathetic. The white horse re-appeared while I was still feeling yuck and looked me up and down as if it knew me. Hauling myself to my feet I staggered over to it and hung onto its neck. It then led me step by step to a little gully where – how wonderful! – there was a stream! Water never tasted so good! Have a splitting headache so am going to sleep in the shade of a rock near the stream.
Teatime?
Headache gone. Stomach churning – perhaps the water was polluted. Feel light-headed. Horse has disappeared again. Sun not so hot. Brains completely scrambled. Am I really myself? I ask this because I am wearing the oddest pair of leggings I’ve ever seen. They look like grey and purple mottled scales. Very odd. I don’t remember buying them. I’m wearing knee-length leather boots, which are making my feet hot. I didn’t buy them either. The T-shirt I’m wearing I bought at a student sale. Aha! So I’m a student! What of and where at?
These are the opening paragraphs to my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, which is now available as an e-book!
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at Dragonscale Leggings, The Rusalka Ritual, The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

ice-blue eyes

20 September, 2016
lone
woman
warrior
lost, confused rider
tangled hair, ice-blue eyes
longsword, potato peeler
to recover her memories
clarity pyramid © Freya Pickard 2016
As I announced yesterday, my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, has finally been launched as an e-book! Please feel free to share and re-blog this post!

I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at Dragonscale Leggings, The Rusalka Ritual, The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

Dragonscale Leggings – available now as an e-book!

19 September, 2016

More excitement!
After years of waiting, I have finally launched my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, as an e-book!
It’s got a new cover with bold colours and attitude – what do you think?
What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next? Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?
Join the narrator of Dragonscale Leggings as she sets out to discover where she is, why she is there and how or if she can return home. Accompanied by Tygar, a white stallion who appoints himself her guardian and armed with a giant potato peeler, Dracomagan travels through a lush and dreamlike Otherworld.
Who will help her find her true identity? Will it be Sama, the gorgeous harpist who gives her a name? Will it be aggravating Agravaine, a knight who prefers fashion to fighting? Can Gatus, the goat herder help her? Or will the mysterious retired Pirate King show her the path to her real memories?
The e-book versions are available at Amazon. Hear me read an extract in my video at DSL!
Please feel free to share and re-blog this post!
© Freya Pickard 2016

The Oil of Sage – episode 2

20 June, 2016
Merlin turned his eyes on Her Majesty, Dracomagan The First, Queen of Camelot II and ruler of the known world. Her long hair hung in lank braids, some of which were coming undone. Her face was spattered with mud and her clothes, which might have once been green or maybe blue, were a uniform brown colour. Her dragonscale leggings were clean. The rest of her looked as though she’d been pulled through a hedge backwards and then dumped in a muddy puddle.
“What you looking at?” Her Majesty asked him rudely.
“Not sure.” Merlin frowned…
Want to read more? To find out what happens next in The Oil of Sage, simply send me an email at dragonscaleclippings (at) gmail (dot) com with Clippings Request in the subject line.
The Oil of Sage is one of my free reads for those who subscribe to my newsletter. Each story appears over 4 issues and is accompanied by excerpts from my blogs as well as new poetry that no one else has yet read! If you already subscribe to my newsletter you should have received the latest link by email on Friday. If you can’t find the email, please let me know!
The Oil of Sage carries on from where The Essence of Thyme left off. So, if you want to find out what happens next, without paying anything, sign up for my Newsletter now!
To find out more about this current issue please visit FREE STUFF! I look forward to hearing from you!
© Freya Pickard 2016
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

A ruby tear

16 June, 2016
a ruby tear will open the way
sleeping prisoner will be released
enchantment broken and true love found
they discover an empty castle
beyond the dark magical forest
and Parsley and Tym fall in love
enchanter remains a mystery
sevenling © Freya Pickard 2016
My first e-book, The Essence of Thyme, is available now! Check out My Books Please share and re-blog this post!
I’ve started making some videos about my writing! Please check them out at The Essence of Thyme and Patreon

%d bloggers like this: