Posted tagged ‘trial’

Dragonscale Leggings …

14 December, 2016

This novel is a parody of the genre Freya loves best; fantasy. In it, she gently pokes fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave.

What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next?

Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, 24Symbols and Scribd.

Watch the video about it at here

Dragonscale Leggings is currently only available as an e-book, the paperback version will be re-issued in 2017.

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

This is an excellent parody of the fantasy genre, and the authoress does a smashing good job of lampooning its conventions and tropes while telling a compelling story with memorable characters. What happens at the end will surprise you. Troy

Dracomagan is a kick ass 21st-century gal who winds up in a land of Arthurian legend with the job of being a dragon slayer. But she doesn’t let this get in her way, and goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. This is a heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it. There is a great supporting cast as well, including some very delicate dragons and some less than chivalrous knights. But the best supporting character has to be Tygar, Dracomagan’s horse who could easily have a book all to himself. The interplay between Dracomagan and Tygar provide lots of the laugh out loud moments in the book. E Baxter

Freya Pickard is an adept of the genre and whilst her writing is richly vibrant, her plots intricately woven, her narratives are always immediately accessible to any kind of reader. Easy to get into, hard to put down. A most enjoyable read. L Turner

Advertisements

Dragonscale Leggings – still only 99p!

22 November, 2016

There’s still a day and half for those of my readers who buy through Amazon UK, to buy my novel, Dragonscale Leggings, for only 99p!

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

Check out the video at YouTube.

If you enjoy stories about strong women and have a good sense of humour, you should buy this! Go on! Make my day!

Chapter Nineteen

11 February, 2015
Sir Feist-Orsa’s face had turned red with indignation and his mouth worked in rage. Lord Pelles was frantically trying to right his wig which now covered the whole of his face. I wondered why no-one ran to help him and noticed that the ant men were all sitting there aghast, staring rigidly at the dragon.
“To speak of an honest tradesman as an ignorant goatherd is to belittle the people who actually do the necessary work in these lands. So what if he is a goatherd? At least he has an honest profession whereas you abuse your position and bring to trial those who have done nothing wrong!”
Sir Feist-Orsa looked as though he was going to explode with anger but the fear in his eyes was plain to see. And I have to admit even I felt a little anxious. An angry dragon, even an angry Good Dragon is alarming.
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2015

Chapter Eighteen

4 February, 2015
This was the big one. This was the charge that would either free me or execute me. I sat there feeling sick as Sir Feist-Orsa ran through the penalties for heresy again. My stomach was just about to start heaving when something large and green flying towards the window behind the prosecution dock caught my eye. Before I had a chance to cry out, a green scaled monster burst through the glass, snapping the metal window frame like dried wood, and landed on the floor between the docks. Sir Feist-Orsa ceased in mid-flow as glass showered down upon him. There was a general stir and then sudden silence as the court realised it was a dragon. She looked familiar.
“Oh dear!” The dragon turned her head and looked at Piera and I. “Am I too early?”
“Perhaps a little,” smiled Lord Pelles. “My dear Ophelia. How are you?”
“Very well, thank you,” she replied. “Enjoying this little holiday you’ve allowed me to take.”
“We, er, haven’t called the witnesses yet,” called Sir Feist-Orsa feebly.
“I’m well aware of that!” snapped Lord Pelles …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2015

Chapter Seventeen

19 December, 2014
“Why should Merlin help me anyway?” I still felt nervous of the magician’s name.
Piera shrugged again. “He’s the most powerful man in existence. He can even overturn legal rulings here in Camelot II.”
“That might come in useful if I’m found guilty of Heresy.” I snorted. “If he hears about the death sentence in time!”
“That’s why I’m here,” Piera said.
“Did you see my advert then?”
“What advert?” he frowned.
“The one I placed in the Camelot Gossip.”
“The Camelot Gossip doesn’t have an advert column,” he said slowly.
“I’ll give that warder more than a bloody nose next time I see him!” I set my jaw and glared at the corridor.
“I’m quite prepared to act as your defence,” Piera interrupted my ruminations. “If you want a defence.”
“Yes!” I turned to look at him, suddenly feeling very grateful for his company …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
Wishing all my readers a very Happy Christmas! See you again in the New Year!
© Freya Pickard 2014

Chapter Sixteen

18 December, 2014
“The defendant appears before you this morning on the charge of Heresy as well as the minor charges of Threatening Behaviour and Obstructing a Knight of the Round Table in the Course of his Duty.”
Lord Pelles nodded slowly. “Did you hear all that?” he asked me.
I opened my mouth to respond and a short but loud belch escaped me. It was pretty good. Lord Pelles nearly fell off his high chair, the warders began making strangled noises again and the watching crowd sniggered.
“Oh! I do beg your pardon!” I said in what I hoped was a surprised fashion. “It just popped out!”
Lord Pelles’ cheeks were nearly purple but as he straightened his wig I noticed that he was biting his lip. Was he trying not to laugh? Sir Feist-Orsa and the knights sitting on front row of benches did not look impressed …
This is an excerpt from my novel Dragonscale Leggings
You can read an excerpt from Chapter Nine at a previous Wednesday Words blog.
Visit My Books to watch the video and find out more about this novel!.
© Freya Pickard 2014

%d bloggers like this: