My Books

VINTRIG’S KINGDOM currently released as an e-book. Paperback will be available in 2017.

When Isu Magan, heir to Vintrig’s Throne, finds the journal of a vanished Scriber, her perceptions of history and the truth are challenged. A growing distrust of her loyal and powerful Counsellor, initiates rebellious and frightening thoughts within her heart. Adding to this disruption of her ordered life, Isu finds herself attracted to the itinerant musician, Sama Conn. As the endless winter thaws, and a brief summer returns to the Castle, Isu longs to learn to dance, but fears her feelings towards Sama. Knowing she cannot love a mortal, the princess flounders in an increasing infatuation that could lose her the throne, and possibly her life.

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, Kobo, Barnes&Noble and iTunes

There are 2 videos to watch this time! There’s a short black and white film of Freya talking about the novel and why she wrote it at About Vintrig’s Kingdom and there’s also a technicolor film of Freya reading an extract from the book at Vintrig’s Kingdom Extract. You can also read the first 3 chapters for free at Amazon.

INSIDES e-book only

In 2014 Freya Pickard was diagnosed with bowel cancer. Insides is the inner journey, charting her progress through colostomy, removal of the tumour and chemotherapy. Dealing with the dark matter of cancer and facing death three times in six months, this collection is a positive affirmation of hope and life.

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, Barnes & Noble and Kobo.

Watch the video about it at here

In an “outside of myself” sort of way, I was quite interested in my initial reaction to Freya’s poetry. During my first read-through I was shocked, even repulsed, by the subject matter – but I think that just goes to show the power of the way it was written. On a second reading I was aware of feeling both sympathy for the writer but also a morbid curiosity – colostomy is not something that’s talked about much, so I wanted to understand it more and also to explore my own horror at medical procedures (I’m terrified of hospitals and having procedures carried out on me by relative strangers). It took me a third read-through to break through the social taboo of discussing the most basic of body functions and really begin to appreciate each poem separately, rather than as a whole collection. J Poulter

These poems gave me a glimpse of Freya’s suffering yet she is filled with hope. The poems are all very special, treasures to be kept and shared with others. E Choi

Irate Ocean was so exquisitely expressed. I felt this was Freya feeling positive and appreciating the wonders of nature, breathing it in and her senses absorbing every particle with heightened sensitivity. S Evans

I love the themes of nature and the seasons within Freya’s poetry. C Sergienko

DRAGONSCALE LEGGINGS e-book only

…is a parody of the genre Freya loves best; fantasy. In it, she gently pokes fun at the Arthurian legends, the common concepts of dragon slayers and dragons and how they should (or shouldn’t) behave. What would you do if you woke up in a place you did not recognise, with no memory of who you are? Would you fall asleep again and hope to remember when you woke up next? Would you hide yourself away, giving into self-pity? Or would you walk out and explore this strange new world, hoping to recover your memory on the way?

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, 24Symbols and Scribd.

Watch the video about it at here

An entertaining tale of a woman from our world waking up one day in an alternative reality as a dragon slayer with amnesia. Written as a journal, there is humour and imagination, an original take on dragons, a fiercely independent female lead, and a playful twist on Arthurian legend. Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan will even get to sing along in places… F J Franklin

Dragonscale Leggings is pure fantasy, but with a twist. The writer, Freya Pickard, a fantasy lover herself, describes this book as a fantasy spoof and this is exactly what it is. She takes the genre and turns it on its head with great humour and skill. It is littered with characters that are of the classic fantasy-typical stereotype, but they are never stereotypical. From Sir Agravaine the Amorous to Sama the troubadour and many others in-between, not forgetting the dragons of course, or her self-appointed guardian horse called Tygar, they are colourfully handled with a deft touch. E Leaper

This is an excellent parody of the fantasy genre, and the authoress does a smashing good job of lampooning its conventions and tropes while telling a compelling story with memorable characters. What happens at the end will surprise you. Troy

Dracomagan is a kick ass 21st-century gal who winds up in a land of Arthurian legend with the job of being a dragon slayer. But she doesn’t let this get in her way, and goes about her business with a blatant disregard for the rules of the day and with a witty sarcasm that often had me laughing out loud. This is a heroine who knows what she wants and how to get it. There is a great supporting cast as well, including some very delicate dragons and some less than chivalrous knights. But the best supporting character has to be Tygar, Dracomagan’s horse who could easily have a book all to himself. The interplay between Dracomagan and Tygar provide lots of the laugh out loud moments in the book. E Baxter

Freya Pickard is an adept of the genre and whilst her writing is richly vibrant, her plots intricately woven, her narratives are always immediately accessible to any kind of reader. Easy to get into, hard to put down. A most enjoyable read. L Turner

THE RUSALKA RITUAL AND OTHER STORIES
available in both paperback and e-book

Available at Amazon UK, Amazon US, iTunes, Nook, Kobo, Page Foundry and Scribd

Trace Dracomagan’s history in five tales from Freya’s fertile imagination. Set in five fantastic locations (most of them out of this world) these stories each encompass a range of human emotion, told by five distinct narrative voices…

Find out more in Freya’s short video about The Rusalka Ritual and Other Stories

These tales are very unusual and unpredictable; fantastic and full of optimism. A Winter

These are suspenseful stories. I want to read more. U Gohla

Such intriguing tales… Where can I buy more? J Poulter

THE ESSENCE OF THYME e-book only

Amazon UK
Amazon US
Kobo
Scribd
Inktera
iTunes
Barnes & Noble
24Symbols

Parsley is on a quest to find her true love. But a tangled forest blocks her way. A promise has been made in the form of a riddle that needs unravelling. She has been chosen so a path will be found, but only a ruby tear will open the way…

Find out more in Freya’s short video about The Essence of Thyme

Chapter One is available to read for free!

It was good to be back in the world of Dracomagan. This was a short story with the same characters as Dragsonscale Leggings and I enjoyed it a lot. I love Dracogmagan’s character. She’s great: irreverent, mouthy and full of attitude. I would have liked the story to be longer and I hope there will be more of these short stories set in the same universe. Doctor Wolf

This is such a delightful series to read. Essence of Thyme is quirky, fun, and imaginative, and Dracomagan and Parsley are a duo to be reckoned with, potato peeler and all! Great job! K Johnston

I really enjoyed The Essence of Thyme, the reversed Sleeping Beauty thing worked really well. I also love Dracomagan’s “otherworldliness”. J Poulter

Even the brief exchanges among the characters show fully developed beings with meaningful traits, roles, and tendencies. Their interaction is amusing, natural, and shows shared understanding and affection, referring either to an established relationship or one that has scarcely begun yet feels inevitable. Your story offers an intriguing and unique combination of the familiar and the strange. K Maher

Advertisements

7 Comments on “My Books”


  1. […] Freya Talks about her novel, Vintrig’s Kingdom at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2eOzmBrNTI Freya reads an extract from Vintrig’s Kingdom at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeqP8DG612s Poem written by Isu Magan, the central character in Vintrig’s Kingdom at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v–N8n-uS8Q More info at https://dragonscaleclippings.wordpress.com/dragonscale-leggings/ […]


  2. Well done, sweet Freya, well done! I just got my eBook and am looking forward to the read. Congratulations!! xxoo


  3. Congrats to you! 😀

  4. Libby Says:

    Looking forward to the download – long awaited!


thank you for reading! if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to reblog, like or comment...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s